1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. IPL 2021Finals – Chennai...

IPL 2021Finals – Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

October 15, 2021 0 Comments

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders will be the finals (60th IPL match) scheduled to be played on 15th October 2021 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai. 

IPL 2021 Finals Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of matches played and won between the two teams shows that out of 25 matches played between them, CSK has won 16 times whereas KKR has won on 8 occasions, 1 match had no result. 

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

The stats show that CSK has an edge over KKR and moreover CSK has won 3 titles already but you never know, it’s finals.  

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders Match Details

Eoin Morgan, the captain of KKR won the toss and elected to field first against CSK. Both Kolkata and Chennai did not change the winning combination. 

Below are the CSK and KKR teams that were declared.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)Ruturaj Gaikwad, Faf du Plessis, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik(w), Eoin Morgan(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakaravarthy

CSK was put on the bat first, they grabbed the opportunity and scored 192-3 in 20 overs. The in-form CSK opener Faf du Plessis hit a magnificent 86 off 59 balls, Gaikwad, Uthappa, and Ali too contributed 32, 37, and 31 runs respectively. 

KKR was given to chasing a mammoth target of 193 runs, this is one of the highest totals this IPL season.

KKR was required to score around 10 runs per over, Venkatesh Iyer and Shubman Gill started well and until the 11 over they seem to be going file with both the openers got the half-century and the required rate was around 10 runs per over. 

Unfortunately, as soon as both the opener got out KKR could not manage the required run rate and lost wickets in succession. In the end, KKR finished 165-9 after 20 overs and CSK won the final match and the IPL 2021 title by 27 runs. 

From the CSK side, Shardul took 3 important wickets, whereas Hazlewood and Jadeja both took 2 wickets each. 

Faf du Plessis was awarded Man of the match for his 86 off 59 balls. He also took the catch of Nitish Rana. 

CSK Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Ruturaj Gaikwad
c Mavi b Narine
Faf du Plessis
c Venkatesh b Mavi
Robin Uthappa
lbw b Narine
Moeen Ali
Not out
Total: 192-3 in 20 Overs
Shakib Al Hasan30330
Shivam Mavi40321
Varun Chakaravarthy40380
Lockie Ferguson40560
Sunil Narine40262
Venkatesh Iyer1050

KKR Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Shubman Gill
lbw b Deepak Chahar
Venkatesh Iyer
c Jadeja b Shardul
Nitish Rana
c du Plessis b Shardul
Sunil Narine
c Jadeja b Hazlewood
Eoin Morgan
c Deepak b Hazlewood
Dinesh Karthik
c Rayudu b Jadeja
Shakib Al Hasan
lbw b Jadeja
Rahul Tripathi
c Moeen b Shardul
Lockie Ferguson
Not out
Shivam Mavi
c Deepak b Bravo
Varun Chakaravarthy Not out0000
Total: 165-9 in 19.5 Overs
Deepak Chahar40321
Josh Hazlewood40292
Shardul Thakur40383
Dwayne Bravo40291
Ravindra Jadeja40372

Chennai Super Kings wins Fourth IPL Title

CSK wins its fourth IPL title by beating KKR in the finals. CSK vs KKR Finals Highlights

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *