1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. Chennai Super Kings vs...

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders – IPL 2021

September 26, 2021 0 Comments

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, the 38th IPL match will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders on 26th September 2021 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi 

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders – Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders shows that out of 26 matches played between them, CSK has won 16 times whereas KKR has won on 9 occasions, 1 match had no result. 

Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

The stats show that CSK has an edge over KKR, also out of their last 5 matches against each other CSK has won 4 and KKR managed to win in just 1 match. 

CSK vs KKR Match Details

Eoin Morgan, the captain of KKR won the toss and elected to bat first against CSK. Kolkata did not change the winning combination of playing XI of the last match. 

Whereas for CSK, they have given rest to Dwayne Bravo, he has been replaced by Sam Curran into CSK’s Playing XI. 

Below are the CSK and KKR teams that were declared.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)F du Plessis, R Gaikwad, M Ali, A Rayudu, S Raina, MS Dhoni, R Jadeja, S Curran, S Thakur, D Chahar, J Hazlewood
Kolkata Knight RidersS Gill, V Iyer, N Rana, R Tripathi, A Russell, E Morgan, D Karthik, S Narine, L Ferguson, V Chakaravarthy, P Krishna

After winning the toss KKR batted first and made full use of the opportunity, they scored 171-6 after 20 overs. 

CSK had to chase 172 runs at the rate of 8.6 runs per over. It was a difficult target but in the current form, this target looked completely achievable. Gaikwad and Faf gave the required start and Jadeja in the end provided the much-required push toward the win. CSK won the nail-bitter match by 2 wickets. 

Ravindra Jadeja was awarded man of the match for his all-around contribution, he got 1 wicket and score 22 winning runs off 8 deliveries in the second last over. 

KKR Batting

After winning the toss KKR started batting first, Shubhman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer opened the innings for KKR, Shubhman was on the money from the start, he hit Deepak Chahar for 2 fours but unfortunately got run-out on the last ball of the 1st over. KKR was 10-1 after 1 over. 

Rahul Tripathi joined Iyer in the middle and both took the KKR score to 50 after the 5 overs.  KKR lost Iyer to Shardul Thakur at 18 runs in the 6th over and KKR was 50-2 after the end of power play (6 overs). 

Eoin Morgan joined Tripathi in the middle for a brief period, he was dismissed by Hazlewood for 8, KKR was 78-3 after the end of 10 overs. 

Thereafter, Nitish Rana and Tripathi batted together for a couple of overs but Jadeja dismissed Tripathi in the 13th over at 45, KKR was 93-4 after the end of 13 overs. 

Nitish and Andre Russell added brisk 32 runs to the total and Shardul once again stuck KKR he bowled Russell out at 20, KKR was 127-5 after the end of 17 overs. 

Dinesh Karthik and Rana played brilliantly and took the score to 166 when Karthik got out to Hazlewood at 26, KKR was 171-6 after the end of 17 overs. 

In the last 3 overs, KKR scored 44 runs at the rate of 14 runs per over. 

KKR Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Shubman Gill
Runout (Rayudu)
Venkatesh Iyer
c Dhoni b Shardul
Rahul Tripathi
b Jadeja
Eoin Morgan
c du Plessis b Hazlewood
Nitish Rana
Not out
37273 1
Andre Russell
b Shardul
Dinesh Karthik
c Dhoni b Hazlewood
Sunil Narine
Not out
Total: 171-6 in 20 Overs
Deepak Chahar40320
Sam Curran40560
Josh Hazlewood40402
Shardul Thakur41202
Ravindra Jadeja40211

CSK Batting

CSK had to chase 172 runs at the rate of 8.6 runs per over. It was a difficult target but in the current form, this target looked completely achievable. 

The inform openers Ruturaj Gaikwad and Faf du Plessis opened the innings for Chennai, without losing the wicket they scored at the required run rate, both batted smartly and completed 50 runs partnership, CSK was 52-0 after power play (6 overs). 

From here they needed 110 more runs in 14 overs when Russell broke the partnership by dismissing Gaikwad at 40, CSK was 78-1 after 9 overs. 

Moeen Ali replaced Gaikwad and both Faf and Ali added 23 runs to the total, Faf was dismissed by Krishna at 43 and CSK was 106-2 after 12 overs. 

CSK now needed 66 runs in 48 deliveries at the rate of 8.2 runs per over, Ambati Rayudu and Ali together scored 20 more runs and CSK once again lost 2 wickets in succession, Rayudu to Narine at 10 and Moeen to Ferguson at 32. CSK was 141-4 after 17 overs. 

Now the ask was 10 runs per over with MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina in the middle, both got dismissed in the 18th over, CSK was 146-6 after 18 overs. 

The asking rate climbed to 15 runs per over, a heroic effort was needed to win from here with Sam Curran, and Ravindra Jadeja was in the middle, Jadeja came to the rescue and scored 22 runs off 6 deliveries by Prasidh. CSK was 168-6 after 19 overs. 

CSK needed 4 runs in the over but this too did not come easy. In the last over Sunil Narine struck and dismissed both Jadeja and Curran, 1 run was needed on the last ball and Deepak Chahar scored the winning run. CSK won the nail-bitter match by 2 wickets. 

CSK Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Ruturaj Gaikwad
c Morgan b Russell
Faf du Plessis
c Ferguson b Prasidh
Moeen Ali
c Venkatesh b Ferguson
Ambati Rayudu
b Narine
Suresh Raina Runout (Tripathi/Chakravarthy)11710
MS Dhoni
b Chakravarthy
Ravindra Jadeja lbw Narine22822
Sam Curran
c sub b Narine
Shardul Thakur
Not Out
Deepak Chahar
Not Out
Total: 172-8 in 20 Overs
Prasidh Krishna40411
Lockie Ferguson40331
Varun Chakravarthy40221
Sunil Narine40413
Andre Russell30281
Venkatesh Iyer1050

CSK vs KKR Match Highlights (video)

The match highlights (video) of the match between KKR and CSK. 

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *