1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. Chennai Super Kings vs...

Chennai Super Kings vs Mumbai Indians – IPL 2021

September 19, 2021 0 Comments

After 4 months gap due to the Covid-19 spread worldwide, IPL 2021 is back with the remaining 31 matches

Earlier in May, this year IPL got suspended. The IPL Phase 2 has been all set at UAE to start with a faceoff between CSK and MI today (19th Sept 2021) at 7:30 PM IST.

The 30th IPL match is played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) at Dubai International Stadium, UAE.

Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of matches played and won between the two champion teams. It is apparent that MI is leading with 19 wins in 31 matches whereas CSK won in 12.


CSK squad is likely to miss Sam Curran as he is quarantined, but from MI the team looks fit and charged to play with full strength.

MI and CSK Match Details

CSK won the toss and elected to bat first. F Du Plessis was doubtful to play but he eventually made it. However, Rohit Sharma did not play and Kieron Pollard was captaining the MI in place of Rohit.

Below are the CSK and MI teams that were declared.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Faf du Plessis, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Josh Hazlewood.
Mumbai Indians (MI)Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan(w), Anmolpreet Singh, Kieron Pollard(c), Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Adam Milne, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

In the exciting match, CSK once again showed how champions play. CSK beat MI by 20 runs winning the first match in IPL 2021 phase 2.

CSK scored 156 runs by losing 6 wickets while MI could score only 136 runs with the loss of 8 wickets in 20 overs. With this win, CSK has replaced the top-ranking Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2021 ranking table.

CSK Batting 

F Du Plessis and Gaikwad came to open, unfortunately, in the very first over of Trent Boult, du Plessis got a thick outside edge and got caught at short third man by Milne at 0.

Moeen Ali came at no 2 and struggled, he got out to Adam Milne in the 2nd over at 0. The last ball of the 2nd overhit Ambati Raydu on the forearm and he got retired hurt at 0 on the last ball of the 2nd over.

CSK was in deep trouble with 3-2 in 2 overs with 3 of the top 4 batsmen back in Pavillion scoring duck – 0.

Problems did not stop for CSK here, in the 3rd over by Boult, Raina got out caught at the backward point. CSK was 7-3 after 3 overs. Dhoni too got departed cheaply at 3, caught by boult and bowled by Milne. CSK was 24-4 after 6 overs. 

By the 6th over half of the CSK was back in Pavillion credit to some beautiful bowling by Boult and Milne, both picked 2 wickets each in the match.

Thereafter, Gaikwad and Jadeja stabilized the CSK innings, Gaikwad scored a half-century and Jadeja scored 26. Jadeja was dismissed by a slower bowled by Bumrah in the 17th over. CSK was 107-5 after 17 overs. 

Bumrah took his second wicket in the form of Bravo, but before getting dismissed in the last over, he scored a quick 23 with 3 sixers that steered CSK to 156-6 in 20 overs. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad scored unbeaten 88 and was declared man of the match. 

CSK Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Ruturaj Gaikwad
Not Out
Faf du Plessis
c Adam Milne b Trent Boult
Moeen Ali
c Saurabh b Milne
Ambati Rayudu retired hurt0300
Suresh Raina
c Rahul Chahar b Boult
4 6 1 0
MS Dhoni
c Boult b Milne
Ravindra Jadeja
c Pollard b Bumrah
Dwayne Bravo
c Krunal Pandya b Bumrah
Shardul Thakur not out1100
Total: 156-6 in 20 Overs
Trent Boult 4 1 35 2
Adam Milne40212
Jasprit Bumrah40332
Kieron Pollard20150
Rahul Chahar40220
Krunal Pandya20270

MI Batting 

Quinton de Kock and Anmolpreet Singh (in place of Rohit) opened the innings for  Mumbai Indians, they had a steady start to chase the target of 157, after 2 overs MI was 14-0. 

MI lost de Kock, LBW to Deepak Chahar at 17 and MI was 20-1 after 3 overs. Deepak Chahar took his second wicket by dismissing Anmolpreet, he was bowled out by a knuckle-ball at 16, MI was 35-2 after 5 overs.

MI was still in-game with two specialist batsmen, Ishan Kishan and Surya Kumar Yadav at the crease. In the very next over, Shardul Thakur scalps Surya at just 3, MI was 41-3 after 6 overs.

Ishan and Pollard stayed at the crease for a while but Bravo broke the partnership by dismissing Ishan at 16, MI was 62-4 after 10 overs. With 6 wickets in hand and Pollard and Saurabh Tiwari on the crease, MI was fighting to stay in the match but their chances were phasing out as the required run rate crept around 10 runs per over.

MI lost Pollard to Hazlewood at 15, MI was 91-5 after 14 overs. With 6 overs remaining and 5 wickets in hand, MI required 66 runs at the rate of 11 runs per over. Mumbai Indians was 118-6 18 overs and needed 39 runs in 12 balls.

At the end of 20 overs, they could only reach 136-8 and lost the match by 20 runs. Saurabh Tiwari was the highest run-scorer from MI with 50 runs on 40 balls.

MI Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Quinton de Kock lbw b Deepak Chahar171230
Anmolpreet Singh
b Deepak Chahar
Suryakumar Yadav
c du Plessis b Shardul
Ishan Kishan
c Raina b Bravo
Saurabh Tiwary not out5040 5 0
Kieron Pollard
lbw b Hazlewood
Krunal Pandya
runout (Bravo)
Adam Milne
c (sub) Gowtham b Bravo
Rahul Chahar
c Raina b Bravo1
Jasprit Bumrah not out1200
Total: 136-8 in 20 Overs
Deepak Chahar40192
Josh Hazlewood40341
Shardul Thakur40291
Moeen Ali30160
Dwayne Bravo40253
Ravindra Jadeja10130

Match Highlights (video)

The Match Highlights video can be seen here

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *