1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. ICC T20 WC
  8. /
  9. ICC T20 WC 2021...

ICC T20 WC 2021 – Australia vs South Africa

aus vs sa t20wc 2021
October 23, 2021 0 Comments

Australia vs South Africa, the first Group 1 match (13th of WC) of ICC T20 WC  scheduled to be played on 23rd October 2021 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. 

Australia vs South Africa – Pre-match Updates 

Australia vs South Africa Head to Head comparison of matches played and won shows that out of 21 matches played between them, Australia has won 13 times whereas South Africa managed to win on 8 occasions, which means Australia has a win percentage of around 40% against South Africa in T20s.

Australia vs South Africa

The last time, two teams met, was in February 2020 in Newlands with Australia hammering South Africa by 97 runs.   

Australia vs South Africa – Match Details

Aaron Finch, the captain of Australia won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Below are both teams that were declared:

South Africa squad for T20 WC: Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj, Quinton de Kock (wk), Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Australia squad for T20 WC: Aaron Finch (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

While batting first South Africa could not make a partnership and lost 9 wickets in 20 overs. Only Auden Markram tried to stay longer and score 40 runs off 36 deliveries. South Africa finished 119-9 in 20 overs. 

Australian side bowled well and Starc, Hazlewood, and Zampa took 2 wickets each whereas Maxwell and Cummins took 1 wicket each. 

Australia has to chase a reasonable small total of 120 with a required rate of 6 runs per over but they too did not have the desired start. They lost openers early but thanks to the middle order who achieved the target in 20th over. 

Australia won the match by 5 wickets and finished at 121-5 in 19.4 overs. 

Player of the Match

Josh Hazlewood was awarded Player of the match for his 2-19 in 4 overs. 

South Africa Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
David Warner
c Klassen b Rabada
Aaron Finch
c Rabada b Nortje
Mitchell Marsh
c Dussen b Maharaj
Steven Smith
c Markram b Nortje
Glenn Maxwell
b Shamsi
Marcus Stoinis
Not out
Mathew Wade
Not out
Total: 121-5 in 20 Overs
Kagiso Rabada40281
Anrich Nortje40212
Keshav Maharaj40231
Tabraiz Shamsi40221
Dwaine Pretorius3.40260

Australia Scorecard 

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Temba Bavuma
b Maxwell
Quinton de Kock
b Hazlewood
Van der Dussan
c Wade b Hazlewood
Aiden Markram
c Maxwell b Starc
Henrich Klassen
c Smith b Cummins
David Miller
lbw b Zampa
Dwaine Pretorius
c Wade b Zampa
Keshav Maharaj Runout (Maxwell/Wade)0200
Kagiso Rabada
Not out
Anrich Nortje
c Finch b Starc
Tabraiz Shamsi
Not out
Total: 118-9 in 20 Overs
Mitchell Starc 40322
Glen Maxwell40241
Josh Hazlewood41192
Pat Cummins40171
Adam Zampa40212

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *