1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IND vs NZ Series...
  8. /
  9. India vs New Zealand...

India vs New Zealand T20I Series – 2nd T20

Harshal Patel
November 19, 2021 0 Comments

India vs New Zealand, 2nd T20I will be played on 19th November 2021 at JSCA International Stadium Complex, Ranchi, India.

Pre-match Updates

The Head to Head record of India against New Zealand is at parity. The two teams have faced each other 19 times in T20I and NZ won 9 times whereas India won 9 times, 1 match remained inconclusive. India’s wins include the last T20 match played between them. 

India vs New Zealand

However, India lost to NZ in the league match of T20 WC recently and the count of T20Is in WC is 3-0. Moreover, when we look at the ICC world cups (T20s and ODIs), there also NZ has an upper hand, out of 11 encounters, NZ vs IND ratio is 8:3 i.e. New Zealand has won 8 times and India could win 3 matches.

 Popular Domains for just 99 Cents at Namecheap!

Match Details

Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss today and has elected to bowl first.

Below are the India and New Zealand Playing XIs that were declared.

India XI: KL Rahul, (c), Suryakumar Yadav, (w), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel

New Zealand XI: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert(w), James Neesham, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee(c), Adam Milne, Trent Boult

While batting first NZ played well and they scored 153 runs by losing 6 wickets in 20 overs. 

Martin Guptil who was in prime form during T20 WC once again proved his class by scoring 31 off 15 deliveries.  Daryl Mitchell too scored 31 whereas Glenn Phillips scored 34. 

From India’s bowling debutant Harshal Patel took 2 wickets off 25 in his spell of 4 overs. 

While chasing 154 runs, India started well and both KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma seem to be on money right away. At one point it was looking that they will finish off the innings together but India lost Rahul in 13.2 overs and India was 117-1 then. Rahul scored 65 runs off 45 deliveries. 

Rohit Sharma too scored 55 off 36 deliveries and hit 5 sixes and a four as well.

In the end, India won comfortably by scoring 155-3 in 17.2 overs. India won the match by 7 wickets against NZ. 

Harshal Patel was named Man of the Match for taking 2 wickets for 25 runs in 4 overs. 

India has won the series as it has won 2 out of the 3 matches T20I to be played. The next T20I match will be played in Eden Gardens, Kolkata on Sunday, 21st Nov 2021. 

New Zealand Innings

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Martin Guptill
c Pant b D Chahar
Daryl Mitchell
C Surya b Harshal Patel
c Rahul b Axar Patel
Glenn Phillips
c Sub Gaikwad b Harshal Patel
Seifert (wk)
c Bhuvneshwar b Ashwin
James Neesham
c Pant b Bhuvneshwar
Not out
Adam Milne
Not Out
Total: 153-6 in 20 Overs
D Chahar40421
Axar Patel40261

India Innings

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
KL Rahul
c Phillips b Southee
Rohit Sharma (c)
c Guptill b Southee
Venkateh Iyer
Not Out
Suryakumar Yadav
b Southee
Rishabh Pant (wk)
Not out
Total: 166-5 in 19.4 Overs
Tim Southee (c)40163
Trent Boult40360
Adam Milne30390
Mitchell Santner40330
Ish Sodhi20130
James Neesham0.20120

India vs New Zealand Match Highlights (video)

Match Highlights 

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *