1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. ICC T20 WC
  8. /
  9. India vs Pakistan Head...

India vs Pakistan Head to Head in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Ind vs Pakistan Head to Head T20
October 14, 2021 0 Comments

India against Pakistan has shown its dominancy in T20 World Cups similar to what they have demonstrated in the 50 overs World Cup. They competed five times in ICC T20 world cups, and India has won all the five encounters so far. I am sure the read India vs Pakistan head to head will be a good one.  

In 2021, yet another T20 World cup that is set to begin on 15th October 2021, everyone is eagerly waiting to see the eternal rivals India and Pakistan in action against each other.

T20 World Cup 2021

Virat Kohli’s Team India has been pooled together with the Babar Azam’s Pakistan team in the Super 12 stage of the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup. This much-awaited match will be played in Dubai International Cricket Stadium, UAE on 24th October 2021.

Initially, ICC T20 World Cup was planned to be held in India but now it has been moved to the UAE due to the COVID-19 situation in India. However, the Indian Cricket Board (BCCI) retains its hosting rights and is the organizer of the event.

India vs Pakistan Head to Head  

The ICC events are the only opportunity for the rivals to pit their might against each other on a cricket field as these two countries have not played bilateral cricket since the terrorist attacks in Mumbai in November 2008.

In these contests, the intensity from both teams will be always high. India has dominated the competition so far in T20 World Cups, just as they have dominated in the 50 over World Cup and have won all the five matches so far.

India vs Pakistan Head to Head in ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021

In fact, the India vs Pakistan final in the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 was the main reason for the immediate popularity of T20 cricket around the globe.

Here are the details of Head Head encounters played in the ICC’s centerpiece T20 tournament to date.

T20 World Cup, Group Match 2007 – India beats Pakistan via Bowl-out

The high power match at Durban ended with a leveled score as Pakistan could only match India’s score of 141. This resulted in a  tie-breaker in the inaugural tournament, a “bowl-out” was conducted instead of “super over”. India was asked to bowl first and for India Shewag, Harbajan and Uthappa hit the stumps thrice in a row whereas Pakistan could not hit a single one, Hence India won the match in Bowl-out.

T20 World Cup, Final 2007 – India beats Pakistan by 5 runs

India vs Pakistan head to head  

India and Pakistan clashed in the final again in 2007 and it was an equally high voltage match, India scored 157/5 in 20 overs. Pakistan in retaliation could only manage to score 152 in 19.3 over and was all out. India won the nail-biting fixture by 5 runs.

T20 World Cup, Super 8s 2012 – India beats Pakistan by 8 wickets

kohli 2012 t20 wc

The two were against each other once again in the super eights of the 2012 tournament at Sri Lanka. In the match, India beat Pakistan convincingly by first bowling the entire Pakistan team out at 128 and thereafter chasing the required runs in the 17th runs. India won the match by 8 wickets.

T20 World Cup, Super 10s 2014 – India beats Pakistan by 7 wickets

Yet again, India continued its dominance on this rivalry at the super 10s match held in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The Pakistan team managed to score 130/7 in 20 overs. Comfortably chased the target in 19th over. Pakistan once again failed to break the losing streak.

T20 World Cup, Super 10s 2016 – India beats Pakistan by 6 wickets

This match was supposed to be a blockbuster clash between India and Pakistan at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata but due to the rain, the match was reduced to 18. Pakistan batted first and scored 118 runs in the designated 18 overs. India while chasing was 23/3 in the first 5 overs. In the later part of the match, Kohli’s heroic effort of 55 runs led India to win the match in 16th over by 6 wickets.  

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *