1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. IPL 2021 Qualifier 1:...

IPL 2021 Qualifier 1: Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals

CSK vs DC qualifier 1
October 10, 2021 0 Comments

IPL 2021 Qualifier 1, 57th  IPL match will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals on 10th October 2021 at Dubai International Stadium, Dubai.

IPL 2021 Qualifier 1- Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of matches played and won between the two teams shows that out of 25 matches played between them, CSK convincingly won 15 times and DC managed to win on 10 occasions.

 CSK vs DC - qualifier 1 ipl 2021

Chennai has won the IPL tournament thrice whereas Delhi has been into the playoffs multiple times but was never been able to win the tournament. 

The history clearly favors CSK, however, presently Delhi is in prime form and has won 3 out of its last 5 matches. Chennai on the other hand has lost 3 of its last 5 matches. Moreover, a few days back the last match played (on 4th October 2021) between both the teams, DC won it with 3 wickets

Both DC and CSK have strong opening batting pairs, Gaikwad and Faf are among the top 5 contenders for Orange cap, whereas Shikhar and Prithvi are among the top 8. 

A minor difference might be in the bowling attack, DC seems to have better-placed in terms of lethal wicket takes, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, and Kagiso Rabada are among the leading Purple Cap contenders. On the other side, CSK relies on a little less lethal bowling attack with Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, and Dwayne Bravo. 

CSK vs DC Match Details

CSK has won the toss and they have elected to field first. CSK came out with the combination of playing XI of the last match and there are no changes made. 

Delhi has made 1 change into the playing XI, they have given chance to Tom Curran in place of Ripal Patel. 

Below are the CSK and DC teams that were declared:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)F du Plessis, R Gaikwad, M Ali, R Uthappa, A Rayudu, MS Dhoni, R Jadeja, DJ Bravo, S Thakur, D Chahar, J Hazlewood
Delhi Capitals (DC)S Dhawan, P Shaw, S Iyer, R Pant, T Curran, S Hetmyer, A Patel, R Ashwin, K Rabada, A Khan, A Nortje

After winning the toss MS asked the captain of DC, Rishabh Pant, to bat first. For DC the well-known openers Shikhar and Prithvi opened the innings. 

Shikhar Dhawan got dismissed early but Prithvi Shaw continued batting and he scored 60 off 34 deliveries.

Rishabh Pant scored 51 runs off 37 balls and Shimron Hetmyer scored runs 35 runs off 24 deliveries. They scored 83 runs in partnership and that too when the team needed it most. 

For CSK, Josh Hazlewood took 2 wickets off 29 in his 4 overs, Jadeja, Moeen, and Bravo took 1 wicket each. 

DC played the match like it had to be played and scored 172-5 in the allotted 20 overs. 

CSK needed 173 runs off 120 deliveries i.e CSK required 8.65 runs per over. It was not an easy task to keep up with the required run rate. 

Faf du Plessis and Ruturj Gaikwad opened for CSK, Faf got dismissed early but Robin Uthappa and Gaikwad carried scoring runs at the required rate and scored 100 runs in partnership 

CSK lost Robin Uthappa after scoring 63 and Shardul Thakur and Ambati Rayudu in 14th and 15th over but Gaikwad carried on with determination. CSK needed 24 runs off 11 deliveries, Moeen Ali and MS Dhoni accomplished the task of CSK.

CSK won the Qualifier 1 by 4 wickets, the final tally for CSK was 173-6 in 19.4 overs. 

From the Delhi bowling side, Tom Curran took 3 wickets and both Nortje and Khan took 1 wicket each. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad was adjudged Man of the match for his valuable contribution of 70 runs off 50 deliveries, he took the catch of Iyer as well. 

After the win, CSK has now moved the finals directly, whereas the loser DC will now contest with the winner of Eliminator 1 in Qualifier 2. 

DC Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Prithvi Shaw
c Hazlewood b Jadeja
Shikhar Dhawan
c Dhoni b Hazlewood
Shreyas Iyer
c Gaikwad b Hazlewood
Axar Patel
c (sub) Santner b Moeen
Rishabh Pant
Not out
Shimron Hetmyer
c Jadeja b Bravo
Tom Curran
Not out
Total: 172-5 in 20 Overs
Deepak Chahar30260
Josh Hazlewood40282
Shardul Thakur30360
Ravindra Jadeja30231
Moeen Ali40271
Dwayne Bravo30311

CSK Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Ruturaj Gaikwad
c Axar b Avesh
Faf du Plessis
b Nortje
Robin Uthappa
c Iyer b Curran
Shardul Thakur
c Iyer b Curran
Ambati Rayudu
Runout (Iyer/Rabada)
Moeen Ali
c Rabada b Curran
M S Dhoni
Not Out
Ravindra Jadeja 0000
Total: 173-6 in 19.4 Overs
Anrich Nortje40311
Avesh Khan40471
Kagiso Rabada30230
Axar Patel302330
Tom Curran3.40291
R Ashwin20190

CSK vs DC Match Highlights

Match Highlights

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *