1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. Kolkata Knight Riders vs...

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals – IPL 2021

kkr vs dc
September 28, 2021 0 Comments

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals, the 41st IPL match will be played on 28th September 2021 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, UAE.

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals – Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of matches played and won between the two teams shows that out of 27 matches played between them, KKR won 14 and DC managed to win on 12 occasions, 1 match remained with no result.  

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals

DC is at 2nd place in the points table after CSK, they are lagging on NRR otherwise both Chennai and Delhi have 16 points.  

On the other hand, KKR is at 4th place in the points table with a mixed form, they lost the last match marginally to CSK  but they won against RCB and Mumbai Indians. 

KKR vs DC Match Details

Eoin Morgan, the captain of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won the toss and decided to bowl first. KKR made two changes in the playing XI, Tim Southee, and Sandeep Warrier replaces Andre Russell and Prasidh Krishna. 

DC is in a comfortable position on the points table and can experiment a bit in the line-up, they have given Steve Smith a chance in place of injured Prithvi Shaw. 

Below are the KKR and DC teams that were declared.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan(c), Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w), Sunil Narine, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Varun Chakaravarthy, Sandeep Warrier.
Delhi Capitals (DC)Shikhar Dhawan, Steven Smith, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Shimron Hetmyer, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Avesh Khan

DC was put on to bat first against KKR, after the middle order disappointing performance, DC finished the innings with 127-9 after 20 overs.

KKR played sensibly and beat the top ranking team ‘Delhi Capitals’ by 3 wickets, the KKR’s final score remained 130-7 after 18.2 overs.    

Sunil Narin was awarded the Man of the Match award for taking 2-18 wickets and scoring 21 runs off 10 deliveries 

DC Batting

After losing the toss, DC was put on to bat first against KKR. DC made a change in the opening pair, Steve Smith replaced Prithvi Shaw and opened the innings with Shikhar Dhawan. 

DC had a stable start, Shikhar played aggressively whereas Smith was playing a supporting role, DC was 29-0 after 4 overs. 

In the 5th over KKR got the breakthrough, Ferguson scalps Dhawan at 24, DC was 35-1 after 5 overs. 

Shreyas Iyer joined Smith in the middle but departed soon, he was bold out by Sunil Narin at 1, DC was 42-2 after 7 overs. 

Over the next 6 overs, Rishabh Pant and Smith added 40 odd runs to the total, Smith was bowled out by Ferguson at 39, DC was 81-3 after 13 overs. 

DC was already struggling with a slow scoring rate and in the very next over, Shirom Hetmyer was dismissed by Venkatesh Iyer at 4, DC was 88-4 after 14 overs. 

In the 15th over, Narine dismissed Lalit Yadav on a golden duck, and in the 16th  overs, Venkatesh scalps Axar Patel at a golden duck. DC was 98-6 after 16 overs. 

In the 20th over Tim Southee took 2 wickets and DC lost a total of 3 wickets (1 runout) this was a very disappointing performance by DC middle order, DC finished the innings with 127-9 after 20 overs. 

DC Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Steve Smith
b Ferguson
Shikhar Dhawan
c Venkatesh b Ferguson
Shreyas Iyer
b Narine
Rishabh Pant
Runout (sub) Karun Nair
Shimron Hetmyer
c Southee b Venkatesh
Lalit Yadav
lbw b Narine
R Ashwin
c Rana b Southee
Kagison Rabada
Not out
Avesh Khan
Run out (Karthik)
Total: 127-9 in 20 Overs
Sandeep Warrior20150
Lockie Ferguson20102
Varun Chakravarthy40240
Sunil Narine40182
Venkatesh Iyer40292

KKR Batting

KKR had a relatively easy task at hand, they had to get 128 runs and the required rate was 6.4 runs per over. 

The well-established openers Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer opened the innings for KKR. Nortje was hit for a couple of 4’s in the very first over and DC was 9-0 after 1 over. 

Both the openers carried on till the 4th over, in the 5th Lalit Yadav bowled Iyer out at 14, and in the 6th over Avesh Khan dismissed Rahul Tripathi at 9, KKR was 44-2 after the power play (6 overs). 

Shubman Gill and Nitish Rana tried to stabilize the innings and took the score to 67-2 after the 10th over.

In the 11th over Shubman Gill was dismissed by Rabada at 30, Rabada bowled maiden wicket over and KKR was 67-3 after 11 overs. 

KKR was on track considering the required KKR but lost another wicket in the 12th over in the form of Eoin Morgan, he was dismissed at a golden duck by Ashwin, KKR was 69-4 after 12 overs. 

Dinesh Karthik and Nitish Rana took the score to 98 when Avesh Khan bold Karthik out at 12, KKR was 98-5 after 15 overs. 

From here KKR needed 30 runs on 30 balls, not a big ask but they have to play 20 overs and prevent losing wickets. 

Sunil Narain hit a brisk 21 off 10 deliveries and he was dismissed by Nortje in the 17th over, KKR was 122-6 after 17 overs. 

Avesh got his 3rd wicket in the form of Tim Southee but KKR was almost home with 126-7 after 18 overs. 

It took 2 more deliveries to clinch an important win for KKR, they beat the top ranking team ‘Delhi Capitals’ by 3 wickets, the final score remained 130-7 after 18.2 overs.   

KKR Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Shubman Gill
c Shreyas Iyer b Rabada
Venkatesh Iyer b Lalit Yadav
Rahul Tripathi
c Smith b Avesh
Nitish Rana
Not out
Eoin Morgan
c Lalit b Ashwin
Dinesh Karthik
b Avesh Khan
Sunil Narine
c Axar b Nortje
Lockie Ferguson Not out0000
Total: 130-8 in 18.2 Overs
Anrich Nortje2.20151
Axar Patel
R Ashwin40241
Lalit Yadav30351
Avesh Khan
Kagiso Rabada31281

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Capitals – Match Highlights (video)

Watch the KKR vs DC match highlights here. 

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *