1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. Kolkata Knight Riders vs...

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings – IPL 2021

kkr vs pbks
September 30, 2021 0 Comments

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings, the 45th IPL match will be played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Punjab Kings on 01 October 2021 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, UAE.

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings- Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings shows that out of 28 matches played between them, KKR convincingly won 19 times and PBKS managed to win only on 9 occasions.

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings

It simply means that both teams if play 3 matches against each other, KKR will win 2 and PBKS will win 1. Moreover, KKR’s is at the 4th position in the IPL points table and is coming with a win in the last match, whereas, PBKS is at 6th position and lost the last match against Mumbai.

Also, chances of reaching the playoff for PBKS are not bright even if they win all the remaining 3 matches they have to play, whereas KKR seems to be a sure-shot candidate for playoffs.

KKR vs PBKS Match Details

K L Rahul, the captain of Punjab Kings (PBKS) won the toss and decided to bowl first. Punjab Kings made 3 changes in the playing XI, Mayank Agarwal, Fabian Allen, and Sharukh Khan come in for Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, and Harpreet Brar.

The KKR has made 2 changes in the playing XI, Tim Seifert and Shivam Mavi come in place of Lockie Ferguson and Sandeep Warrier.

Below are the SRH and CSK teams that were declared.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (capt), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Sunil Narine, Tim Southee, Tim Seifert, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy
Punjab Kings (PBKS)KL Rahul(w/c), Mayank Agarwal, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran, Shahrukh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Fabian Allen, Nathan Ellis, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

PBKS won the toss and KKR was put on to bat first. KKR batted well and settled with a score of 165-7 after 20 overs. 

After restricting Kolkata at 165 and PBKS needed 166 runs to win at the required rate of 8.3 runs per over. PBKS scored 168-5 in 19.3 over and won the match against KKR by 5 wickets.

K L Rahul was awarded Man of the Match for his match-winning innings of 67. runs. 

KKR Batting

After losing the toss, KKR was put on to bat first against PBKS. Venkatesh Iyer and Shubhman Gill opened the innings for KKR.

In the very first over Iyer showed aggressive intent and dispatched Fabian Allen for a couple of boundaries. KKR was 10-0 after 1 over

In the second over Gill smashed Mohammed Shami for a boundary and KKR was 17-0 after 2 overs. 

Arshdeep Singh gave the first breakthrough to PBKS, he bowled Shubman Gill out at 7, KKR was 23-1 after 3 overs. 

Rahul Tripathi who looked in the prime touch in the series came in at no 3 for KKR and tried to settle in before launching the attack on PBKS. After the power play (6 overs), KKR was scored 48-1 at the rate of 8 runs per over. 

Both Rahul and Venkatesh kept scoring aggressively and completed 50 runs partnership, at the end of the 10th over KKR was 76-1. 

KKR lost Tripathi to Ravi Bishnoi in the 12th over at 34, KKR was 93-2 after 12 overs. 

Nitish Rana came in for Tripathi and both he and Iyer continued playing aggressively, Iyer completed his half-century in the 13th over, KKR was 104-2 after 13 overs. 

Venkatesh Iyer got dismissed in the 15th over by Ravi Bishnoi at 67, KKR was 121-3 after 15 overs. 

Eoin Morgan joined Rana for just an over, he was dismissed LBW by Shami at 2, KKR was 124-4 after 16 overs. 

Dinesh Karthik and Rana together scored 25 runs and Rana was dismissed by Arshdeep at 31, KKR was 151-5 after 18 overs. 

In the last 2 overs of the innings, KKR scored 14 more runs and lost wickets of Dinesh Karthik and Tim Seifert, Arshdeep took his 3rd wicket in the form of  Karthik whereas Seifert was run out, KKR settled with a score of 165-7 after 20 overs. 

KKR Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Venkatesh Iyer
c Hooda b Bishnoi
Shubman Gill
b Arshdeep Singh
Rahul Tripathi
c Hooda b Bishnoi
Nitish Rana
c Mayank b Arshdeep
Eoin Morgan
lbw b Shami
Dinesh Karthik
b Arshdeep Singh
Tim Seifert
Runout (Shami)
Sunil Narine
Not out
Total: 165-7 in 20 Overs
Fabian Allen40380
Mohammed Shami40231
Arshdeep Singh40323
Nathan Ellis40460
Ravi Bishnoi40222

PBKS Batting

Punjab Kings restricted Kolkata at 165 and they needed 166 runs to win at the required rate of 8.3 runs per over.

Both the batsmen, K L Rahul and Mayank Agarwal, who are Orange cap contenders, opened the innings for Punjab.

By the 2nd over Mayank Agarwal showed his aggressive intent, he hit both Southee and Mavi for boundaries, PBKS was 13-0 after 2 overs. 

Both batsmen batted sensibly and comfortably scored at the required rate, PBKS was 46-0 after the power play (6 overs). In the next over they completed the 50 runs partnership

Varun Chakravarthy broke the partnership by dismissing Mayank at 40 in the 9th over, PBKS was 71-1 after 9 overs. 

Mayank did his job, now it’s up to the coming batsmen to take the score to win mark, Nikolas Pooran who replaced Mayank hit a six to Shivam Mavi in the 11th over, and on the next ball lost his wicket at 12. PBKS was 85-2 after 11 overs.

Rahul was batting sensibly and what PBKS needed was someone to stay and build a partnership, Aiden Markram joined Rahul and both added 46 more runs to the total. Markram was dismissed at 18 by Narine, PBKS was 131-3 after 16 overs.

Punjab needed 35 runs off 24 deliveries now, it seemed quite possible with Rahul and Deepak Hooda on the crease but Hooda was dismissed at 3 by Mavi, PBKS was 142-4 after 17 overs.

With Shahrukh Khan and Rahul batting the PBKS score reached 161-4 after 19 overs. 

Just 5 runs needed from the last over, and another suspense, the match-winning innings of K L Rahul comes to end, he was dismissed by Iyer at 67, finally, Sharukh hit the ball for a SIXER, and PBKS won by 5 wickets.

The PBKS’s final tally was 168-5 after 19.3 overs. 

PBKS Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
KL Rahul
c Mavi b Venkatesh
Mayank Agarwal
c Morgan b Chakravarthy
Nicholas Pooran
c Mavi b Chakravarthy
Aiden Markram
c Gill b Narine
Deepak Hooda
c Tripathi b Mavi
Shahrukh Khan
Not out
Fabian Allen
Not out
Total: 168-5 in 19.3 Overs
Tim Southee40390
Shivam Mavi40311
Varun Chakravarthy40242
Sunil Narine40341
Venkatesh Iyer2.30301
Nitish Rana1070

KKR vs PBKS Match Highlights (Video)

Match highlights – video

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.