1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. Kolkata Knight Riders vs...

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore – IPL 2021

KKR vs RCB 2021 IPL
September 20, 2021 0 Comments

The 31st IPL match was played between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Rajasthan Royals (RR) on 20th September 2021 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

Virat Kohli is playing its 200th IPL match, and as a tribute RCB is in light blue jersey today, watch what the associates have to say?

Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of matches played and won between the two champion teams shows that out of 27 matches played between them, KKR won 14 and RCB won 13 matches.


It is apparent that the two teams are of the same caliber and on a specific day anyone can be a better team than the other team.

RCB vs KKR Match Details

Virat Kohli, the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) won the toss and decided to bat first. From the RCB side Wanindu Hasaranga and K Bharat doing their debut in IPL, whereas from KKR all-rounder Venkatesh Iyer makes his debut today.

Below are the RCB and KKR teams that were declared.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Virat Kohli(c), Devdutt Padikkal, Srikar Bharat, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers(w), Wanindu Hasaranga, Sachin Baby, Kyle Jamieson, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal,
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan(c), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy, Prasidh Krishna

RCB batted first but were never in control, they could not play the full 20 overs and were dispersed in 19th score at mere 92 runs. Varun and Russell took 3 wickets each. KKR comfortably crossed the line and won the match against RCB by 9 wickets with 10 overs remaining. 

RCB Batting

RCB opened the innings with their established opening pair of Devdutt Paddikal and Virat Kohli. After the muted start, RCB was 4-0 after 1 over

The second over was bowled by Parsidh Krishna and he dismissed Kohli by LBW and RCB was 12-1 after 2 overs. K. Srikar Bharat, the debutant came to bat at no. 3 for RCB.

Both Paddikal and Bharat tried to stay on the crease but the partnership was broken by Lockie Ferguson in the 6th over when he edged the ball to the keeper, he scored 22 off 20 deliveries. RCB was 41-2 after the 6th over (power play).  

Glenn Maxwell replaced Paddikal at the crease to calm down the shaking RCB nerves, but Russell had some other plans, he stroke RCB hard by taking the most important wicket of AB de Villiers at Golden duck (0), and dismissed Bharat as well on 16 runs in the 9th over. RCB was 52-4 after the 9th over.  

Another twist came in when Varun Chakravarthy dispersed Maxwell and debutant Hasaranga at 10 and 0 respectively. RCB was 63-6 after the 12th over.

In his very next over, Chakravarthy scalps Sachin Baby at 7, RCB was 68-7 after the 14th over. RCB could not play the complete 20 overs and were all at 92 after 19 overs. 

For the spectacular bowling performance, Varun Chakravarthy was awarded Man of the match. He took 3 important wickets of Maxwell, Hasaranga, and Baby. 

RCB Scorecard 

Score of IPL match for RCB

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Virat Kohli
lbw b Prasidh
5 41 0
Devdutt Paddikal
c Karthik b Ferguson
22 203 0
KS Bharat
c Shubman b Russell
Glenn Maxwell
b Varun Chakravarthy
AB de Villiers
b Russell
010 0
Sachin Baby
c Rana b Chakravarthy
Wanindu Hasaranga
lbw b Chakravarthy
Kyle Jamieson
run out (Chakravarthy)
Harshal Patel
b Ferguson
Mohammed Siraj
c Chakravarthy b Russell
Yuzvendra Chahal
not out
Total: 92-10 in 19 Overs
Varun Chakravarthy40133
Prasidh Krishna 40241
Lockie Ferguson40242
Sunil Narine40200
Andre Russell3093

KKR Batting

KKR had to chase a comfortable target of 93 runs in 20 overs. A new and debutant opener Venkatesh Iyer came out to open with well-versed Shubman Gill

Both of them played seamless cricket and steered KKR towards victory. At the end of power play (6 overs), KKR was 56-0.  

KKR was at the doorstep of victory when Shubhman got out to Chahal at 48 off 34 deliveries. KKR was 82-1 in 9.1 overs. Russell replaced Shubhman at the non-striker end but Venkatesh smashed 3 boundaries in the 10th over to snatch the match from RCB.  

KKR Scorecard

Score of IPL match for KKR

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Shubman Gill
c Siraj b Chahal
Venkatesh Iyer
Not out
Andre Russell
Not out
Total: 94-1 in 10 Overs
Mohammed Siraj20120
Kyle Jamieson20260
Wanindu Hasaranga20200
Yuzvendra Chahal20231
Harshal Patel20130

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *