1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. Punjab Kings vs Mumbai...

Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians – IPL 2021

pbks vs mi
September 28, 2021 0 Comments

Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians, the 42nd IPL match will be played on 28th September 2021 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi.

Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians – Pre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians shows that out of 28 matches played between them, PBKS managed to win 13 and MI won on 15 occasions.

Punjab Kings vs Mumbai Indians

MI clearly has a marginal upper hand, however, PBKS is coming with a win in the previous game against SRH, other the other hand MI has lost its last match against RCB. 

Also, from here the fight is to cement a place in the playoff for which both teams would try to win each match they play now.

PBKS vs MI Match Details

Rohit Sharma, the captain of MI won the toss and elected to field first against PBKS. MI has made 2 changes in the playing XI, Saurabh Tiwary and Nathan Coulter-Nile named in the team in place of Ishan Kishan and Adam Milne.

PBKS made 1 change in the playing XI, Mandeep Singh was picked in the team in place of Mayank Agarwal

Below are the PBKS and MI teams that were declared.

Punjab Kings (PBKS)KL Rahul(w/c), Mandeep Singh, Chris Gayle, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran, Deepak Hooda, Harpreet Brar, Nathan Ellis, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh.
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Saurabh Tiwary, Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

The PBKS was put on the bat first by MI after winning the toss, they kept on losing the wickets and scored at a slow run rate, PBKS finished 135-6 in 20 overs.

The MI had to chase down a relatively low total of 136, the run rate required was 6.8 runs per over. All the players performed to the best of their abilities and with the team effort MI won the match in 19th over with 6 wickets.

Kieron Pollard was awarded the Man of the Match award for taking 2 wickets and scoring crucial 15 runs. He completed 10000 runs and 300 wickets in IPL, he became the first player to do this in IPL. 

PBKS Batting

PBKS was put on the bat first by MI after winning the toss. PBKS made the change to its opening pair, Mandeep Singh replaced Mayank Agarwal.

Both K L Rahul and Mandeep Singh started the innings watchfully and after the 5th over PBKS was 35-0. This seems to be a slow but desirable start considering PBKS has lost wickets early on.

MI got the breakthrough in the last of the powerplay in the form of Mandeep Singh, he was Lbw by Krunal Pandya at 15, PBKS was 38-1 after 6 overs. 

Chris Gayle and Rahul were in the middle now, they needed to stay longer and keep scoring.

The next over was bowled by Kieron Pollard, he bowled a dream over and dismissed both Gayle and KL Rahul at 1 and 21 runs respectively. He also achieved a landmark of getting 300 wickets in IPL. PBKS was on the backfoot, the PBKS score was 46-3 after 7 overs. 

In the next over Bumrah dismissed Nicholas Pooran at 2, PBKS was 50-4 after 8 overs. 

Deepak Hooda and Aiden Markram were in the middle to take PBKS to a fightable total, both scored a 50 runs partnership

In the 16th over Rahul Chahar bowled out Mrkram at 42, PBKS was 112-5 after 16 overs. 

After that Harpreet Brar and Hooda scored 15 more runs and in the 19th over Hooda was dismissed by Bumrah, PBKS was 127-6 after 19 overs. 

In the last of PBKS scored 8 more runs and ended the innings with a total of 135-6 in 20 overs. 

PBKS Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
KL Rahul
c Bumrah b Pollard
Mandeep Singh lbw b Krunal151420
Chris Gayle
c Hardik b Pollard
Aiden Markram
b Chahar
Nicholas Pooran
lbw b Bumrah
Deepak Hooda
c Pollard b Bumrah
Harpreet Brar
Not out
Nathan Ellis
Not out
Total: 135-6 in 20 Overs
Krunal Pandya40241
Trent boult30300
Jasprit Bumrah40242
Nathan Coulter-Nile40190
Kieron Pollard1082
Rahul Chahar40271

MI Batting

The MI had to chase down a relatively low total of 136, the run rate required was 6.8 runs per over. This seemed to be quite achievable especially with the in-form openers of MI.

For MI, Quinton de Kock and Rohit Sharma opened the innings, they were not under pressure at all and tried to play the natural game. However, in the 3rd over Rohit was dismissed by Mohammed Shami at 8, MI was 15-1 after 3 overs. 

In the next over Ravi Bishnoi bowled Suryakumar Yadav on a golden duck, Surya’s poor form continued and MI was 18-2 after 4 overs. 

Saurabh Tiwary joined de Kock and both added valuable 43 runs to the total, Shami struck once again and bowled out de Kock at 27, MI was 62-3 after 9 overs. 

MI still required 74 runs off 66 deliveries, Hardik Pandya replaced de Kock and both Tiwari and Pandya were unstoppable. In the 16th over MI again lost a wicket in the form of Tiwari to Nathan Ellis, Tiwari scored 45, MI was 96-4 after 16 overs. 

They needed 40 runs off 4 overs with an asking rate of 10 runs per over with Keiron Pollard and Pandya in the middle, both scored in boundaries and MI won the match by 6 wickets with 1 over to go.

Both Pollard and Pandya were unbeaten at 40 and 15 respectively. The MI final score was 137-4 after 19 overs. 

After this win, Mumbai has climbed up in the points table at 5th place and PBKS trickled down to 6th.

MI Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Rohit Sharma
c Mandeep b Bishnoi
Quinton de Kock
b Shami
Suryakumar Yadav
b Bishnoi
Saurabh Tiwary
c Rahul b Ellis
Hardik Pandya
Not out
Kieron Pollard
Not out
Total: 137-4 in 19 Overs
Aiden Markram30180
Mohammed Shami40421
Arshdeep Singh40290
Ravi Bishnoi
Nathan Ellis31121
Harpreet Brar11110

PBKS vs MI match Highlights (video)

PBKS vs MI match highlights can be watched here

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *