1. Home
  2. /
  3. News
  4. /
  5. Sports
  6. /
  7. IPL 2021
  8. /
  9. Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan...

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals – IPL 2021

September 27, 2021 0 Comments

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan Royals, the 40th IPL match will be played on 27th September 2021 at Dubai International Stadium, UAE.

Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rajasthan RoyalsPre-match Updates 

Head to Head comparison of matches played and won between the two teams shows that out of 14 matches played between them, RR and SRH have won 7 matches each. Both the teams stand an equal chance to win today’s game. 

However, SRH is struggling to win this season, it’s in the last position in the points table, SRH has won just 1 match out of 9 played, on the other hand, RR is at 6 places with 5 losses and 4 wins.

srh vs rr-rec

The win or loss does not matter to SRH from here because they cannot be in playoffs now, but RR stands a chance to strengthen its claim for playoffs. 

SRH vs RR Match Details

Sanju Samson, the captain of RR won the toss and elected to bat first against RR. RR made 3 changes in the playing XI, David Miller, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Kartik make way for Evin Lewis, Chris Morris, and Jaydev Unadkat. 

On the other hand, SRH has made 4 changes to turn luck on their side, Jason Roy (SRH debutant), Priyam Gurg, Abhishek Sharma, and Siddharth Kaul are in for David Warner Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, and Khaleel Ahmed. 

Below are the MI and KKR teams that were declared.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Jason Roy, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Kane Williamson(c), Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma
Rajasthan Royals (RR)Evin Lewis, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson(w/c), Liam Livingstone, Mahipal Lomror, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Chetan Sakariya, Jaydev Unadkat, Mustafizur Rahman

After winning the toss RR elected to bat first against SRH, Sanju batted brilliantly and RR scored 164-5 in 20 overs. 

SRH needed 165 runs in 20 overs at the required run rate of 8.25 and they never kept the required rate out of sight, with match-winning performances by Jason Roy and Kane Williamson SRH won the match by 5 wickets. 

Jason Roy was awarded Man of the match in his debut match for SRH, he scored 60 off 42 deliveries at a rate of 142.86, he hit 8 fours and 1 six. 

RR Batting

After winning the toss, RR elected to bat first against SRH. RR opened the innings with Evin Lewis and Yashasvi Jaiswal

The RR was playing aggressive cricket from the very beginning, Lewis and Jaiswal hit boundaries in the very first over and RR was 11-0 after 1 over. 

RR lost Evin in the 2nd over to Bhuvneshwar and RR was 11-1 after 2 overs. Sanju Samson replaced Evin, along with Jaiswal they continued playing good cricket till the end of power play, RR was 40-1 after 6 overs. 

RR lost Jaiswal to Sandeep Sharma at 36, RR was 68-2 after 9 overs. 

Liam Livingstone replaced Jaiswal but he too got dismissed by Rashid Khan in the 11th over at 4, RR was 81-3 after 11 overs. 

Mahipal Lomror replaced Livingstone and he too was in an attacking frame of mind, both batted well and Sanju got his 50 in the 16th over at 41 deliveries, RR was 133-3 after 16 overs. 

Both Lomror and Samson continued until in the 20th over and scored 84 runs partnership. In the 20th over Sanju got out to Siddharth Kaul, Sanju Samson scored 82 off 57.

In the same over Riyan Parag got out on a golden duck, Lomror was unbeaten at 28. RR finished 164-5 after 20 overs. 

RR Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Evin Lewis
c Abdul Samad b Bhuvneshwar
Yashasvi Jaiswal
b Sandeep
Srikar Bharat
c Suryakumar b Chahar
Sanju Samson
c Holder b Kaul
Liam Livingstone
c Samad b Rashid
Mahipal Lomror Not out282711
Riyan Parag
c Roy b Kaul
Rahul Tewatia
Not out
Total: 164-5 in 20 Overs
Sandeep Sharma30301
Bhuvneshwar Kumar41281
Jason Holder40270
Siddarth Kaul30340
Rashid Khan40331
Abhishek Sharma 1080

SRH Batting

SRH needed 165 runs in 20 overs at the required run rate of 8.25. Since the starting of the IPL this season, SRH’s main problem was struggling openers, they replaced David Warner and Jason Roy pitched in for him.

SRH opened with Jason Roy and Wriddhiman Saha, in the first over Saha stroked a boundary and SRH was 8-0 in 1 over. 

Both continued stroking and scored 50 runs partnership, SRH was in a comfortable position and SRH reached 57-0 after 5 overs.

Up till now the things were looking completely in control of SRH but Mahipal Lomror struck RR by dismissing Saha at 18, SRH was 63-1 after power play (6 overs). 

The captain Kane Williamson joined Roy in the middle and after that, there was no stopping. Roy scored his half-century in the 11th over and SRH was 111-1 after 11 overs.

From here, SRH required 54 runs at the required rate of 5.5 runs per over, all the hard work was already done and it was not a herculean task. SRH lost Roy in the  12th over to Chetan Sakariya at 60, SRH was 114-2 after 12 overs.

Priyam Garg came in but to leave very early, he was dismissed Mustafizur on a golden duck, SRH was 119-3 after 13 overs.

SRH now needed 46 runs off 42 deliveries, which means almost a run-a-ball that Williamson and Abhishek Sharma got very easy in the 19th over. 

SRH won the match by 5 wickets, Williamson remained unbeaten at 51 and Sharma at 21. 

This was the second win for SRH in the season, it would not benefit them to playoff but would certainly boost the confidence of the team and help them set the winning combination. 

SRH Scorecard

Batting RunsBalls4s6s
Jason Roy
c Samson b Sakariya
Wriddhiman Saha
st Samson b Lomror
Kane Williamson Not out514151
Priyam Garg
c&b Mustafizur
Abhishek Sharma Not out211611
Total: 167-3 in 18.3 Overs
Jaydev Unadkat20200
Chris Morris
Mustafizur Rahman 3.30261
Mahipal Lomror30221
Rahul Tewatia
Chetan Sakariya 40321

SRH vs RR Match Highlights (Video)

The Highlight of the match played between SRH and RR. 

Let's Share, sharing is caring

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *